Culture and traditions

The regional flags of Spain: origin and meaning

Each autonomous community of Spain has its own flag and shield. In this article, we show you the current flags of the 17 autonomous communities, as well as the Spanish autonomous cities, arranged in alphabetical order. What colors is the flag of the Basque Country?

1. Andalusia

Since 1918, the Andalusian flag has the three current stripes. The colors white and green were chosen because they remind the shades of the countryside from this area of ​​the country. In addition, they represent purity and hope. The shield is inspired by that of Cádiz.

2. Aragon

As with the badge of other communities, the flag of this territory comes from that used by the Kings of Aragon during the Middle Ages. As for the shield, it represents the four historical emblems of the area.

3. Asturias

The main symbol of the flag of Asturias is the Victoria Cross, which was prepared for King Alfonso III in the X century. From it hang the Greek letters alpha and omega, which means beginning and end.

4. Canary Islands

Although it is not official, it is said that the colors of the Canary Islands flag derive from the banners of the provinces of the Canary Islands and Tenerife. Inside the shield, the seven triangles represent the seven islands that form the community.

5. Cantabria

Initially, this symbol was the maritime flag of Santander, although it ended up being taken for the entire community. In the center is the official shield, in which the history of this territory is told.

6. Castilla la Mancha

The white part of the Castilla la Mancha flag refers to the Military Orders of Calatrava, Santiago and San Juan. Within the crimson red part you can see the shield of Castile.

7. Castilla y León

The origin of the flag of Castile and León dates back to the thirteenth century, at which time the Crown of Castile began. The lion was the symbol used by Alfonso VII and the castle of three towers that of Alfonso VIII.

8. Catalonia

The flag of Catalonia or senyera It comes from that used by King Alfonso II, King of Aragon and count of Barcelona. According to legend, the four red stripes were shaped with a bloody hand on a gold cloth in a war of the ninth century.

9. Ceuta

Unlike the aforementioned places, Ceuta is not a community, but an autonomous city of Spain that is located in North Africa.

The flag of Ceuta is similar to that of Lisbon, since Portugal used it during the Middle Ages, a country that conquered this city in 1415. It is considered one of the insignia Older of Europe.

10. Community of Madrid

Until 1983, the Madrid flag was green. However, from that year on, it changes to red and is added seven stars. These represent the stars that form the constellation of the Big Dipper. In addition, they have five points for the neighboring provinces of this uniprovincial community.

11. Valencian Community

As for the insignia of the Valencian Community, it has the same origin as that of Catalonia. Likewise, the royal crown is reflected on the blue part, an aspect that became a right granted by King Pedro IV in the fourteenth century.

12. Extremadura

Each color of the flag of Extremadura is related to a part of its history. The green comes from the Order of Cavalry of Alcantara of 1156, the white of the crown of the Crown of León and the black of the Aftásidas kings of Badajoz, creators of a Muslim kingdom in the eleventh century.

13. Galicia

The Galician flag, which has been in force since the 19th century, is a combination of two banners. A part comes from the symbol of the Naval Command of A Coruña, since, according to the story, Galician emigrants traveling to America thought that this was the flag of their territory.

On the other hand, the center shield was that of the Kingdom of Galicia. The Holy Grail that we can observe began to be represented in this area from the thirteenth century. It is possible to see the flag without this symbol, since it is only mandatory in public buildings and official acts of the community.

14. Balearic Islands

Once again, we have the four red stripes on a yellow background belonging to the flag of the ancients Kings of Aragon. This symbol has been used since 1983, the year in which the Statute of Autonomy of Balearic Islands.

15. La Rioja

The Rioja flag is one of the most colorful in the country. Each tone symbolizes a characteristic aspect of the area. Although representations may vary, these are some of the most accepted: red is the camethe white the rivers, the green the orchards and the yellow the earth.

16. Melilla

Like Ceuta, Melilla is an autonomous city. On the blue background of its flag appears the shield belonging to the House of Medina Sidonia, an important family of Castile during the Middle Ages.

17. Murcia

In the upper left corner of the Murcia flag we find four castles, which symbolize the border nature of the ancient kingdom of Murcia. As for the seven crowns, they allude to the faithfulness of the kingdom to the kings of Spain.

18. Navarra

The flag of Navarra is characterized by being totally red. In the center is the shield of this territory, in which the most significant element is that of the chains, which symbolize those won by King Sancho VII in the battle of Las Navas de Tolosa in the thirteenth century.

19. Basque Country

Although the ikurriña It was designed in principle to represent Biscay, it was finally taken as a symbol of the entire Basque Country. The green cross of the flag symbolizes the Guernica tree, an icon of Biscayan and Basque freedom.

As we can see in the image, the flag of the Basque Country is composed of three colors: red, green and white. These are part of the identity and culture of this autonomous community.

Finally, we have selected the previous and next article of the block "Prepare the trip"so you can continue reading:

Leave a Reply